California law requires effectively all firearms transfers to go through a CA licensed FFL. (Penal Code Section 27545) Two individuals may sell to one another, using an FFL as an agent, following the procedure set forth in Penal Code Section 28050. That action is commonly known as a 'Private Party Transfer' or 'PPT'. PPT handgun transactions are exempt from the Handgun Roster. In almost all places, PPT handgun transactions are exempt from 1 in 30 days. The buyer in a PPT handgun transaction must have the Firearm Safety Certificate, unless exempt. PPT transactions are subject to the 10-day wait.
This fee is for guns you purchase on the internet and have transferred to us. In addition to the $100 transfer fee, there is a DROS fee of $35 and we must collect CA sales tax on the total you pay for the firearm. For multiple firearms being transferred, there is a fee of $50 for each additional. Make certain the firearm is approved for sale in California. Please have a copy of the invoice included with the shipment.
Pursuant to Senate Bill 683 (Stats 2013, ch. 761), effective January 1, 2015, the existing Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) program will be expanded and renamed the Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC) program. Under the FSC program, requirements that currently apply to handguns only, will apply to all firearms (handguns and long guns)
Study guide can be found here.
Effective January 1, 2001, no handgun may be manufactured within California, imported into California for sale, lent, given, kept for sale, or offered/exposed for sale unless that handgun model has passed firing, safety, and drop tests and is certified for sale in California by the Department of Justice. Private party transfers, curio/relic handguns, certain single-action revolvers, and pawn/consignment returns are exempt from this requirement.
The roster can be found here.
THE ARMORY © 2013 All Rights Reserved